Bugsy Malone – Curtain Call

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 11.47.19 AM

After months of hard work, Bugsy Malone was finally presented to a live audience on the 10th, 11th and 12th of March. As a backstage member (stage left), I wasn’t anticipating on any last minute nerves or butterflies in my stomach, but after all our dedication and commitment, I found it hard not be as invested in the play as the actors.

IMG_5760Through all the nerves and excitement, however, I managed to really enjoy every single performance – by the third performance, everyone backstage knew the words to the songs, and we had fun mouthing the words to all our favorites. By the third performance, I was also beginning to feel confident in the world of theatre and my role as a backstage crew member. To end the musical with flair, the final night had added musical performances and a different stage set up – while I may have felt out of my depth navigating new backstage orders at the start of the play, I now knew the stage and the props, as well as the actors and the directors, well enough, to manage my job easily.

IMG_5761

 

 

 

After the third performance, we celebrated all our hard work with cupcakes, laughter and congratulations. Although theatre is not a passion of mine, getting to know how it works, and getting to share in the joy of my friends, made it an invaluable experience.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 11.47.38 AM

 

 

I never would have appreciated this musical the way I do if I hadn’t watched it come together from backstage – being involved in theatre will truly change my experience as an audience member from now on.

 

One thought on “Bugsy Malone – Curtain Call

  1. Pingback: End of Year CAS Reflection | amasha's CAS Blog

Leave a Reply

