MUN Practice Debates

IMG_5456

GA3 Practice Debate [Photo Credits: Smriti Nagarajan]

COMUN 2016 is soon approaching and I am currently polishing my debating skills in the practice debates. Over the last few months, I have attended two practice debates and am fervently researching for the third, which will take place on the 30th of January.

The topic for the final debate is:

Developing a framework to mitigate the detrimental effects of a rapidly emergent sex tourism industry with special emphasis on the South Asian Region.

As the delegate of Belarus, I will need to approach the topic in my nation’s interest and make sure I represent the country’s foreign policy accurately.

IMG_5457The practice debates have allowed me to once again familiarize myself with MUN procedure from last year and gain invaluable practice at drafting resolutions and posing comprehensive ideas to debate. Additionally, the practice debates have allowed me to get to know my committee, GA3, as well as my chairs and fellow delegates. Having several other delegates from OSC in my committee has allowed me to debate more confidently as we always make it a point to support each other and ensure we all have fun debating. Although we hadn’t met before, the other members in my delegation were also very friendly and helpful and allowed me to make connections with other schools in Colombo. Building relationships and connections with the other delegates will really help me in COMUN 2016 as I will have to work with them to make strong resolutions.

Going into the third practice debate, I am drawing upon my experiences from the last two, and have formed specific objectives to achieve. For the third practice debate, I am aiming to:

(a) Strengthen my moderated caucus topics so that they will be debated in committee

(b) Communicate better during unmoderated caucus in order to be more involved in operative writing

(c) Bring up more pertinent points during debate

Having gotten into the flow of committee procedure, and having gotten some much needed practice during school meetings, I am looking forward to taking part in the third practice debate.

 

Leave a Reply

