Colombo Model United Nations 2016

FullSizeRender-2

COMUN 2016

Last month, on the 23rd of November, I joined the MUN team at OSC. Having done MUN once before, this time I am looking forward to improving my knowledge of international issues and the UN and developing my speaking skills.

Currently, during our meetings on Monday, we focus on the different aspects of a MUN session, such as drafting resolutions and making moderated caucus topics. Additionally, as the committees have been created for COMUN 2016 in February, we have also given consideration to which committee we want to take part in. This year, I will be in GA3, the general assembly on Social, Cultural and Humanitarian issues. I am really looking forward to this as many of the major global issues that interest me, such as women’s rights and humanitarian affaires, fall under this committee.

Throughout the following sessions and practices debates, I hope to:

(a) Challenge myself by improving upon my knowledge of global issues

(b) Strengthen my debating skills as that is an area I need more development and growth in

(c) Improve my engagement with others in COMUN through negotiation and unmoderated caucus sessions

(d) Recognize the importance of the issues being discussed during conference

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 3.58.08 PM

COMUN Workshop at OSC

By the beginning of the COMUN conference on the 19th of February 2016, I hope to have met these objectives so that I can give my best performance during debate.

One thought on “Colombo Model United Nations 2016

  1. Pingback: MUN Practice Debates | amasha's CAS Blog

Leave a Reply

